Tri-County Mall

Tri-County Mall
Location Springdale, Ohio
Coordinates 39°17′24″N 84°27′52″W / 39.29°N 84.4644444°W / 39.29; -84.4644444Coordinates: 39°17′24″N 84°27′52″W / 39.29°N 84.4644444°W / 39.29; -84.4644444
Opening date October 6, 1960
Developer Federated Stores and Joseph Meyerhoff
Management Tri-County Mall, LLC
Owner Singhaiyi Group
Architect Kenneth Cameron Mitchell
No. of stores and services 150
No. of anchor tenants 3
Total retail floor area 1,300,000 square feet (120,000 m2)
No. of floors 2 (Macy's has 4)
Website tricountymall.com

Tri-County Mall is located at the interchange of State Route 747 and Interstate 275 in the city of Springdale, Ohio, a northern suburb of Cincinnati. Originally known as Tri-County Shopping Center, it was the second open-air-type mall built in Greater Cincinnati; the first being Swifton Shopping Center, opened (in 1956) in the Bond Hill district of Cincinnati.

The 150 store superregional mall now has over 1,300,000 square feet (120,000 m2) of leasable space.

History

The center was proposed in 1956 by Jeffrey Lazarus, who headed the Cincinnati-based Shillito's department store chain. Ground was broken for the $25 million project in July 1959; the grand opening took place September 26, 1960. At the time, Tri-County Center was an open-air mall of fifty-two stores, anchored by Shillito's and Cincinnati-based Pogue's. There was also an Kresge 5 and 10 store, and a Kroger supermarket.

The complex had been fully enclosed by 1968, with a third anchor, Sears, anchoring a new southeast wing. Known henceforth as Tri-County Mall, the retail hub was expanded again between the years 1989 and 1992. This project added a fourth anchor, McAlpin's, and a second level of retail, which was built on top of the first.

In 2010 Tri-County Mall became one of the many malls in the US to ban teenagers after designated hours, on Fridays and Saturdays.

In July 2013, the mall was purchased at a sheriff's sale for $45 million by American Pacific, an Oregon based investment group.[1]

Anchors

The original Shillito's store has been through several name changes since it opened in 1960. The first was in 1982 when Shillito's combined with corporate sister store, Rike's, and was renamed Shillito Rikes. Four years later, the nameplate changed to Lazarus. In 2003, Lazarus' parent company started to phase out the Lazarus name. The store became Lazarus-Macy's that year, before becoming Macy's in March 2005.

The other original anchor, Pogue's, was renamed L. S. Ayres in 1983. L. S. Ayres closed the store in 1988, and J. C. Penney moved into the space soon afterward. J. C. Penney closed their Tri-County location in July 2005. The former site was gutted and redeveloped between the years 2006 and 2008. The first level became a new mall entrance, Ethan Allen Furniture and B.J.'s Restaurant and Brewhouse. The upper floors were devoted to a Krazy City indoor theme park, which has since closed.

In 1998 the McAlpin's store became Dillard's. Sears is the only store in the mall that has retained its name identity since that store opened. Dillard's closed its store in 2015 after operating the location as an outlet store.[2]

References

This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the 8/11/2016. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.